About the Council

Improving the mental health and wellbeing of veterans and their families and preventing veteran suicide is a key priority for the Australian Government.

In 2014, the Government established the Prime Ministerial Advisory Council on Veterans’ Mental Health with a specific focus on mental health issues affecting veterans and their families. The Council plays an important role in building understanding of the veteran community as a unique cohort with differing needs and advising Government on how best to support veterans and their families to serve, live and age well.

The Council advises the Prime Minister, the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, and the Government on high-level strategic and complex matters relating to the mental health of veterans and their families.


Council members have expertise in mental health matters and/or represent the Australian Defence Force, the veteran community or industry. Members are appointed to provide independent advice to the Government informed by their lived experience and/or specialised knowledge.

Prime Ministerial Advisory Council on Veterans' Mental Health — Members as at October 2020
Position Name
Chair Vice Admiral Russ Crane AO, CSM (Ret)
Member Lieutenant-General Mark Evans AO, DSC (Ret)
Member Mrs Joy Jenkins
Member Associate Professor Dr Bradley Murphy
Member Ms Jocelyn Parsons
Member Dr Sheralyn Rose BHSc, BLitt (Hons), PhD
Member Ms Nicole Sadler AM, CSC
Member Rear Admiral Sarah Sharkey AM, CSC, RAN
Member Dr Madeline Romaniuk
Ex-officio Dr Jenny Firman, Chief Health Officer, DVA
Ex-officio Mr Donald Spinks AM, Repatriation Commissioner, DVA
Ex-officio Ms Gwen Cherne, Commissioner for Veteran Family Advocacy, DVA